This was good!

So the last picture implies that this is to be eaten around the New Year. While this may be the case, I didn’t make the candy until about a week after New Years and, obviously, not posting this until a month later. I’m just letting you know so you know that I know that New Years is past and that it’s okay to make and eat something a month late.

Also, I’m struggling to 1) find something to say about these because I did make them a while ago and 2) focus on my Art History reading, which I should be doing right now. It’s not that I don’t find it interesting, because I actually do find it very interesting. In fact, it’s one of my favorite classes. Unfortunately, unlike the lecture, the textbook is full of uninteresting things that I have to pick through to find the interesting things. I mean, for me, the interesting part about architecture (it’s an architecture history class) is why someone built something and how it looks, not so much the technical details on how they built it. But hey, it’s all part of the class and it’s all worth learning.

I can’t say that I’m actually going to learn any of this, though. I don’t think I’m retaining much of it.

Maybe it’ll help to take a bit of a break… Look at other peoples’ websites for a while… Have some yogurt…

Chinese Sesame and Peanut Candy

From MyKitchenSnippets

1 cup Sugar

2 tbsp White Vinegar

1 tbsp Water

1/4 cup Toasted Sesame Seeds

2 1/4 cups Skinless Roasted Peanuts

_

Line a rectangular cake pan (I used 8 by 8) with foil and grease it with oil. Combined half of the Toasted Sesame Seeds and Peanuts together and spread them evenly on the pan.

Combine Sugar, Vinegar and Water in a heavy bottom saucepan. Cook over medium heat until it reaches 300 degrees F on a candy thermometer (roughly until it begins to reach light brown color stage and syrupy).

When the sugar syrup has reached the appropriate state, carefully (and promptly before it hardens) pour it over the nuts and seeds in the baking pan. Smooth the surface with a spatula, if you would like, although I did not. Sprinkle with the remaining sesame seeds and cool slightly.

While candy is still warm, remove from pan by lifting the foil. Cut into 2 inch by 1 inch pieces and then allow to cool completely before removing the foil and eating! Note: if you decide to store these someplace, like a plate, be sure to oil the surface to ensure that the candy does not stick.

