Hooray! Finally. I have been wanting to make this fried rice since the summertime. I was planning on doing it in college, but as I think I have mentioned in previous posts, college is busy. I have things to study, friends to make, and sleep to catch up on. And on top of that, I have a meal plan that I was required to purchase that involves $10 meals. Ten dollars? Are you kidding me? What if I just want some soup and crackers? That’s some $10 soup and crackers. And if I miss a meal? That’s a $10 value, already paid for, that I missed. So I can’t afford to miss a meal. No sir, I won’t be saving money by making my own food (at least until I live off campus), I’ll be wasting it.

Well anyways, I finally got around to doing it. It needs some improvement, sure. It was a first-try, experiment. Didn’t turn out bad though, although the best part was the SPAM. I really like SPAM, I think it is absolutely delicious. Is it just a “West Coast thing?” Or an Asian thing? Who knows. One thing’s for sure, you can expect more SPAM related posts in the future, hopefully sooner than later.

And a note on the fried rice in its current state. I think that maybe next time I won’t cook the Pineapple as long, if at all. And I probably won’t cook it with the SPAM if I do cook it, as it kind of took on a taste of the SPAM, which I didn’t really care for… I think it’s best if the Pineapple tastes like pineapple and the SPAM tastes like itself. Also as I mention below, I haven’t found out an “ideal ratio” of seasonings yet, I’ll let you know when I do. However, I would try next time adding some sugar to the Pineapple Juice + Soy Sauce instead of at the end, and seasoning it with Soy Sauce and Salt, if needed later.

SPAM& Pineapple Fried Rice

Oil

1 Can SPAM, chopped

4 to 5 Eggs, beaten

1/3 cup Pineapple Juice

2 tbsp Soy Sauce

4 slices Ginger

1 clove Garlic

2 to 3 cups Fresh Pineapple, chopped

About 5 to 6 cups Cooked Rice

1 cup Green Peas, cooked

4 to 6 Green Onions, sliced

For Seasoning

Soy Sauce

Fish Sauce

Sugar or Agave

Sesame Oil

Salt

_

Lightly coat a pan in a little Oil and fry the chopped SPAM until slightly browned. Remove the SPAM and set aside. Add the Beaten Egg and allow it to cook, without scrambling (you can add a little Salt to the egg now if you would like). Once cooked, remove the egg and set aside.

Add the Pineapple Juice, 2 tbsp Soy Sauce, Ginger, and Garlic to the pan. Allow this to reduce for several minutes, then add the SPAM. Stir to coat the pieces evenly. Add the Pineapple pieces* and cook for several minutes (the original idea was to glaze the SPAM and carmelize the Pineapple, but I don’t think that the carmelization really worked). Remove from pan and set aside, discarding ginger slices and garlic.

Coat a large pan or wok with oil. Add the Cooked Rice, breaking up any chunks. Add the SPAM, pineapple, cooked egg, and Green Peas. Mix to combine thoroughly and break up the egg pieces, and making sure that the rice does not burn. Add the Green Onion, as well as the Seasonings (all or some) to taste**. If you would like, you can mix in some more fresh Pineapple now too.

*You can also choose not to cook the Pineapple pieces here, and simply add all or some of them at the end when you mix in the SPAM, peas, etc.

**Sorry about this “to taste” business. I haven’t found a specific magical ratio yet, but I’ll update when I do.


