For New Years Eve, we began our Pu Pu making with two recipes from an “Old Church Lady Book,” as someone put it (please don’t take offense, Church Ladies). I love this book, I found it in my Grandma’s kitchen. There is a second one, but she doesn’t have it… but who knows, I may pick it up off Amazon someday.

Anyways, the first of these two are little Japanese Meatballs, “Hiki-Niku Age” apparently. I have no idea what that actually means so let’s hope it means little meatballs! Here [is] are some pictures taken with my phone (sorry for the quality, but how good can phone pictures with no natural light be?) and a recipe. [I looked at the pictures again and just couldn’t bring myself to post them. Way too yellow and a bit blurry/ out-of-focus. Just imagine bite-sized meatballs with rainbow toothpicks through them on a nice plate? Great.] Enjoy ’em.

One-Bite “Hiki-Niku Age”

From Oryori Two

For the Meatballs

1 lb Ground Beef

1/4 tsp. Grated Ginder Root

1 tbsp. Soy Sauce

1 tbsp. Sake or Sherry Wine

1 tsp. Salt

2 pieces Green Onions, chopped fine

3 Shiitake Mushrooms, chopped fine

1 Egg

1 tbsp. Potato/ Corn Starch

For the Sauce

3 tbsp. Soy Sauce

3 tbsp Sugar

3 tbsp Sake or Sherry Wine

Cornstarch mixed with Water

_

To make the Meatballs, put all Meatball Ingredients in a bowl and mix thoroughly. Make small meatballs about 1 tbsp in size. Fry in about 6 tbsp Fat, turning carefully.

To make the Sauce, bring all Sauce Ingredients to a boil, thickening with the Cornstarch and Water mixture. Add the Meatballs to the sauce to coat and serve.

