Buah haha-ha-ha! I have cooked something! I have finally cooked something in college!

I don’t know why, but for some reason I thought that I would be a crazy cooking machine. I thought that I would have all this time to cook. I thought that I would have to cook in order to survive here. Boy was I wrong. No time, no need. The homework, meal plan, and attempt to have some form of social life took care of it all. It’s sad, really. I struggle to find time on my weekends or weeknights to cook and even when I think that I can, something comes up. Sometimes it’s homework, or an activity for a class. College is so time consuming.

This curry was nice though. It doesn’t require fancy ingredients and is pretty simple to make. Just allow for an hour or so to cook plus some prep time in cutting everything up. It’s a nice comfort food, reminds me of the boxed Golden Curry that my mom buys. The only issue with this curry was that halfway through making it I realized that not everyone would appreciate the smell and that I had made the whole floor smell like it… ha. Sorry, guys. Made my night a tasty one though!

Japanese Curry

Adapted from No Recipes

For the Curry

2 tsp Oil

2 Large Onions, sliced

2 Chicken Drumsticks*

3-4 Carrots, cut thickly on diagonal

4 C Water

1 Large Potato, cut into large chunks

1 Small Apple, peeled cored and pureed or grated

Salt, to taste

1 tsp Garam Masala

2-4 Roma Tomatoes, cut into large chunks (eighths or quarters)

1/2 C Peas (I used frozen)

For the Roux

3 Tbs Butter (I subbed Oil)

1/4 C Flour

2 Tbs Curry Powder or Garam Masala

1/2 tsp Cayenne Pepper, or to taste (I didn’t have any but spicy curry is always nice!)

Fresh Ground Black Pepper, to taste

1 Tbs Ketchup or Tomato Paste

1 Tbs Worcestershire Sauce

*I only had two Chicken Drumsticks to use today. You can use a larger amount of chopped Chicken, Beef, Shrimp, Tofu, etc. It’s really up to you.

_

Heat the Oil in a large saucepan and add the Onions. Cook over medium low heat, stirring occasionally, until golden brown and caramelized, about 30 minutes. Turn up the heat to high and brown the Chicken.

Add the Carrots and Water, bringing to a boil. Skim off any foam or oil off the top. Once it has reached a boil, lower the heat and add the Potatoes, Grated Apple, Salt, and Garam Masala. Simmer until the potatoes and carrots are cooked through and the meat is tender, about 30 minutes.

Meanwhile, make the roux: melt the Butter or heat the Oil over medium low heat. Add the Flour and Curry Powder, stirring constantly to form a thick paste. Mix in the Cayenne and Black Pepper well. Add the Ketchup and Worcestershire Sauce, continuously stirring to combine fully. Continue to cook for several minutes until the roux begins to crumble. Set aside until the vegetables are ready.

Just before the potatoes and carrots are done, I added in the Tomato chunks and let them cook a little. Add two cups of the liquid from the Curry to the roux and stir until the mixture is smooth, a minute or two. Pour this mixture into the big pot and stir gently to combine and thicken the mixture. Add the Peas and heat them through.

Serve with cooked White Rice.

