Oh it feels like I haven’t posted in so long! I think it’s been at least several weeks. Or maybe it hasn’t, but it just feels like a long time because I’ve been a bit busy. Just starting college, so many to-dos struggling for priority on the list in my head! I feel like there’s something that I need to do every second, and I’m constantly thinking of a new one while simultaneously forgetting another! Oh no! Help me!

Honestly, does anyone know of how I can keep track of things? I’ve been taking notes, making lists, setting calendar reminders, everything! But I still feel like I’m forgetting something…

Anise-Orange Biscotti

Adapted from TheSkinnyGourmet

1/2 Teaspoon Anise Seeds

1 Cup& 1 Tablespoon Flour

1 Teaspoon Baking Powder

6 Tablespoons Sugar

2 Tablespoons Oil

1 Egg, lightly beaten

Zest of 1 Orange (about 1 Tablespoon)

1 Teaspoon Almond Extract

Melted Chocolate, for dipping (I recommend a bittersweet or something like that)

_

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees F.

In a small skillet on the stove-top, toast the Anise Seeds until fragrant. Remove from skillet and crush the seeds (in a mortar and pestle, spice grinder, etc.).

Combine the Flour and Baking Powder in a medium bowl and mix well. In a separate bowl, combine the Sugar, Orange Zest and Crushed Anise Seed. Mix well to combine and infuse the zest throughout the sugar. Add the Lightly Beaten Egg, Almond Extract, and Oil with the sugar mixture. Mix to combine.

Add the wet mixture into the dry mixture. Mix until well combined.

Roll the dough into a log approximately 12 inches long and place on a well seasoned baking stone or a baking sheet lined with parchment paper. Bake on the center rack until golden, about 30-35 minutes. When you gently press the top of the log, it should not give way easily, it should be somewhat firm and resistant. Remove from oven to cool for 5-7 minutes.

Cut the log on diagonal at about 1/2 inch to 1 inch intervals. Spread the cut biscotti out across the baking sheet on their edges so that there is enough space between them for air to circulate during the second baking. Return them to the oven and bake for another 12 to 16 minutes, until their sides are firm to the touch but not overly browned. Remove from oven and let cool.

Meanwhile, melt the chocolate, either on the stovetop or in the microwave. When the biscotti is cooled, dip each cookie halfway into the chocolate (you may want to hold the cookie over the melted chocolate to let the excess drip off) and place on parchment or wax paper to dry.

