Has anyone had Japanese curry? Apparently it’s pretty popular in Japan, and I’ve seen it in bread and ramen, but most often with meat or vegetables over rice. It’s pretty good, and not like Indian curries, really. More similar to Chinese or Korean curry.

So because I wanted to make some Dry Curry Rice, I decided to give making the curry powder a try. I don’t think it’s perfected, though, and the only reason I’m even posting it is because of the Dry Curry post. I didn’t test it or have any trials and error, I just estimated the amounts given by the super-broad ratios and threw it all together. I’m working on it, though. I’m going to try this powder with another recipe or two, then adjust the spices. I feel that something like this all depends on personal taste, so if you decide to make it yourself, mix as much or as little of whatever you like. And if anyone has a great curry recipe out there, feel free to share !

Japanese Curry Powder One

Adapted from S&B through Justhungry

3& 3/4 tsp Ground Turmeric

2 tsp Ground Coriander

1& 1/2 tsp Ground Cumin

1 tsp Ground Cardamom

3/4 tsp Black Pepper

Pinch Cayenne Pepper

1/2 tsp Ground Cloves

1/4 tsp Ground Fennel

_

Mix all the spices together thoroughly. Use as needed.

