Mmm… looks delicious, right?

I have always loved squid and octopus. I don’t know what it is about them, but for as long as I can remember, they’ve been some of my favorite foods. Maybe it’s the texture, or the taste, or even just the way it looks. They’re pretty interesting, with all those tentacles. What kid wouldn’t be drawn in by that alone?

So here’s a recipe for super simple, delicious squid. I wouldn’t even call it a recipe. It’s that easy. I was surprised by how simple it was, and the squid turned out really nice and tender, not rubbery at all. You don’t have to measure anything, no complicated techniques and there aren’t really even many steps. Just: cook the squid. I did get it from a book though. A pretty good looking book that I’d like to try more out of that really reinforces my desire to go to Japan.

The book is all about the Japanese Pub culture, highlighting some of the author’s favorite Izakaya (the pubs) and dishes. He walks through the experience at each place, talking about the atmosphere, chefs, history, and of course the food! And there’s a huge range of dishes, from salad to meat to soup, and from traditional to modern. It all looks great though!

So that’s all I have to say for now. Enjoy the squid if you try it, or just the pictures, and maybe some sake or other alcohol to give it that Izakaya experience.

Grilled Whole Surume Squid

From Izakaya

1 Whole Common (Surume) Squid

Sea Salt

1 Lemon Wedge

2 Teaspoons of Grated Ginger

_

To clean the squid: pull and separate the tentacles and head from the body. Discard head. Trim the two longer tentacles to the same ength as the others (I did not do this). Wash the tentacles well. Discard the innards, wash the body well under running cold water, and blot dry. Insert your hand into the body, remove the transparent cartilage and discard.

Salt the body and tentacles (I would be careful not to add too much salt. A few teaspoons was enough for me). Broil the squid on a medium charcoal or gas grill, flipping once, until cooked through, about 7 to 8 minutes.

Cut the body into 1/4 inch (1.25 cm) thick rings and arrange on a serving plate along with the lemon wedge and grated ginger.