Some people who have read some of my past posts may have noticed that the written content is a bit mediocre. That’s okay, I accept that I may not be the best writer or that I don’t always have much to say, but this leads me to a question that I have been pondering for a while: do I always have to include some commentary along with the photos I post? I know that there are Photo Blogs and Photo Websites, but many of the blogs that I have seen, especially the food ones, are full of anecdotes, advice, narration, etc. And that’s great, it’s nice to get some of the personality of the writer and hear what they’re thinking. But what if I don’t have anything to say? I’ve felt a little pressured to fill in the space between the pictures with words, which leads to my pointless rambling and so-so commentary. It’s like writing an in-class or SAT essay once you’ve realized you’re running out of time. The end result is rarely worth reading, but you finish with the feeling of “okay, not great, but at least I have something down.”

So I wanted to ask, do I have to always write something? Will anyone be offended if I don’t? Does it matter if someone feels offended? I mean, I’m really posting these photos for myself, anyway, so that I don’t forget about these things. And really, how many people even read the things that I write? Sometimes I just use the text in between the pictures to break up the space and make it look more visually appealing…

Well, let me know what you think if you happen to have an opinion or any advice about this. I’m open to hear what anyone has to say. About anything, in fact. It’s always nice to get feedback, positive or negative.

Macaroon-Topped Brownies

From Brownies, Bars, & Biscotti!

3 oz Unsweetened Baking Chocolate

1/2 Cup Butter or Margarine

3 Eggs

3/4 Cup Sugar

1& 1/2 tsp Vanilla Extract

1/2 Cup All-Purpose Flour

1/2 Cup Sweetened Condensed Milk

2& 1/4 Cup Sweetened Shredded Coconut

_

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees F. Grease an 8 inch square pan.

Melt the Chocolate and Butter (I used a tablespoon or two less than the recipe calls for) in a saucepan over low heat. Remove from the heat and set aside to cool slightly.

Beat together the Eggs and Sugar until frothy. Add the chocolate mixture and Vanilla, mixing well. Add the Flour and beat until smooth. Spread the batter in the prepared pan.

Combine the Condensed Milk and Coconut in a bowl. Spoon the mixture over the batter. Bake for 30 to 35 minutes. Place the pan on a wire rack and allow to cool completely before cutting into squares.

