I’m not sure if these qualify as crackers. They tasted like crackers and have the texture of crackers but they look like cookies, maybe even biscuits. Yeah, that’s what they are: when I imagine those biscuits that sailors took on ships back in the day, I think of something that looks like these but taste like cardboard.

Fortunately, these do not taste like cardboard! They are very cheesy and a tiny bit heated from the cayenne. I can’t really tell you I’ve had much experience eating them though, because after I ate just one, they were devoured by my mom and grandparents – but mostly my mom. She has this thing for chips and cheesy breads and crackers. It always surprises me because she’s always trying to avoid unnecessary oils and things like that, and then she goes and downs practically a whole bag of Fritos (and I’m not talking about the snack size bag) or pours a pile of cheese on top of pasta and salad. Not that there’s anything wrong with that at all. I love cheese too, and cheese can be really good for you right? I mean it’s dairy and we need the things that you find in dairy, in moderation, of course. So cheese is healthy…

Some cheeses are “healthier” than others though, or at least lower in fat. I think I read somewhere that Parmesan has less fat than a cheese like Cheddar. But don’t quote me on that, please. I don’t want to be responsible for all this incorrect information going around. So if someone knows anything about cheese that they would like to share, feel free to enlighten me.

Cheddar Chive Crackers

Adapted from The Complete Spice Book

1 Cup Whole Wheat Flour

1/2 Tsp Baking Powder

1/2 Tsp Dry Mustard

1/4 Tsp Cayenne

1/4 Cup Butter (1/2 Stick), room temperature

1 Cup Finely Grated Cheddar Cheese

1/4 Cup Finely Chopped Toasted Almonds

1 Tbsp Diced Chives or Garlic Chives

2 to 3 Tbsp Milk

_

Sift together Flour, Baking Powder, Mustard, Salt, and Cayenne.

In a separate bowl, mix Butter and Cheese. Add flour mixture, blending with fingers or pastry blender. Mix in the Almonds and Chives. Add the Milk, one tablespoon at a time, stirring with a fork, until the dough holds together.

Shape into a log about 1 inch in diameter. Wrap in plastic wrap and chill for several hours.

Preheat oven to 400 degrees F. Slice dough into rounds about 1/4 inch thick and place on ungreased baking sheets. Bake 10 to 12 minutes or until lightly browned.

