This salsa tastes like the green salsa that my dad always gets at taquerias for his chips. I’m assuming it’s a similar stuff, but I was a little surprised when I first made it because it was the sauce for some enchiladas. So that would make it enchilada sauce right? But it tastes so similar to the salsa for chips! Is there a difference? Are there salsas for chips and then salsas for enchiladas and other main-meal dishes? I was always under the impression that there were, but now I’m starting to think otherwise.

Salsa Verde

Adapted from The Well-Filled Tortilla

12 to 16 Ounces Tomatillos

2 Cups Cilantro Leaves

2 Serrano Chili Peppers, stemmed

1/4 Teaspoon Salt

_

Peel the paper husks off the Tomatillos. Rinse the tomatillos, place them in a saucepan, and add water to cover. Bring to a boil and simmer until soft to the touch, about 5 minutes. Remove tomatillos and reserve water.

In a food processor, blender, or food mill, purée the tomatillos along with 1/2 cup of the reserved cooking liquid, the Cilantro, and the Chilies. Stir in the Salt.


