Pita. I like the word Pita. Apparently, there was a girl who went to my school who was nicknamed Pita. I wouldn’t mind being nicknamed Pita. Maybe I’ll name one of my children Pita.

I just read over what I wrote and I think that I used that word too many times.

Just call me Pita.

Pita Bread

From Secrets to Cooking Armenian/Lebanese/Persian

1 (1/4 oz) Package Dry Yeast

1& 1/2 Cups Warm Water

1 Tbsp Sugar

3/4 tsp Salt

3 Tbsp Vegetable Oil or Melted Butter

4& 1/2 Cups Unbleached All-Purpose Flour (I used half unbleached all-purpose half whole wheat)

_

Mix Yeast, 1/2 Cup Warm Water and 1 teaspoon of the Sugar thoroughly. Proof for 10 minutes till foamy on top.

In a food processor or electric mixer, mix Flour, Salt, and remainder of Sugar. Add yeast. With the motor running, pour Water and Oil or Butter in a steady stream and mix until liquid is absorbed and mixture forms into a ball. Remove and knead several times by hand. Shape into a ball and place in a lightly oiled bowl, turning once to coat. Cover with a kitchen towel or plastic wrap for 2 hours to double in size.

Position rack in lower third of oven. Preheat oven to 500 degrees F.

Punch dough down. Let rest 5 minutes. Divide into 6 to 8 pieces. Taking one piece at a time, flatten and bring sides together in the center (like wrapping a package) and seal together. Turn the sealed side down. Place on a lightly floured surface and cover with flour-dusted plastic wrap for 10 minutes. Roll each ball into a flat circle (with a rolling pin. At first I read this and tried to roll it like a ball to achieve flatness. It didn’t really work). Place on ungreased baking sheets and bake until puffy and slightly golden colored, about 6 to 8 minutes. right when they come out of the oven, brush the tops lightly with water to give them some shine. Cool slightly on racks and store in a plastic bag while still warm to prevent drying out.

*

Pita Chips

Several Rounds Pita

A few Tablespoons Olive Oil

Sea Salt

_

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F.

Using scissors, cut the Pita along its circumference to create round halves. Stack the halved pita and cut into about 8 pieces (chip-sized. You can cut triangles or other shapes, but I chose rectangles).

Lay the pieces, smooth side down, on an ungreased baking sheet. Brush the tops with Olive Oil and sprinkle with Salt.

Bake in the preheated oven for about 5 minutes, until lightly golden, and then flip them over and bake for about 5 more minutes, or until golden brown and crispy.

