Did you know that Hummus is made from Chickpeas? I’ve known for a little while now, but I had a really hard time believing it when someone first told me that it was made from beans. I was pretty young at the time and I just couldn’t imagine beans tasting that way. I honestly remember trying really hard to wrap my head around the concept: I pictured beans and then I pictured hummus, trying to create some sort of in-between image. And I just couldn’t do it. I accepted it, though, because I was and still am a huge fan of hummus, even if it is mashed beans.

And seeds. Mashed beans and seeds.

Finger lickin’ good.

Hummus Bi Tahini

From Secrets to Cooking Armenian/Lebanese/Persian

2 to 3 Cloves Garlic, peeled and hard tip removed*

2 Cups Cooked Chickpeas

1/3 Cup Tahini (sesame seed paste)

Salt, to taste

3 Tbsp Olive Oil

1/3 Cup Lemon Juice

Paprika and Freshly Chopped Parsley to garnish

_

Place the steel blade in the work bowl of food processor**. Turn motor on and drop in garlic cloves, one at a time, through feed tube. Stop motor and remove cover. Set aside 8-9 Chickpeas for decoration (optional) before adding the remaining chickpeas, Tahini, and Salt to the food processor. Cover and process a few seconds. Add Oil and Lemon Juice through the feed tube with the motor running. Process until smooth, scraping down the sides of bowl as needed. Adjust seasoning.

Spread onto a platter or bowl. Arrange the whole cooked chickpeas on top and sprinkle with Paprika and Parsley. Serve with Pita, Fresh Vegetables (like carrots or snap peas), or however else you like.

*Next time, I might try roasting the garlic too, just because that sounds good to me.

**I don’t own a food processor so I used a blender, but it was a little slow and inefficient.

