Oh dear. I made these a little while ago, maybe even a month ago, and I am just now getting to publishing this post. And so I must tell you: I do not have the best memory as to what these were like.

So now you can join me through this unclear memory as I strive to remember…

I know they were pretty simple to make. The most time consuming part was the tortillas. Unfortunately, I don’t think I seasoned it well enough – the chicken. No, I didn’t put enough salt. I’m always afraid of adding too much seasoning, especially salt and sugar. There are some things you just can’t reverse and too salty is one of them. However, Nathan and my mom didn’t seem to think they were underseasoned, although I don’t know if I can fully trust them. Sometimes you can’t trust people who are very supportive of you… They tend to overlook minor blemishes.

I was a big fan of the Salsa Verde, though. I believe I felt that the salsa saved them from their lack of seasoning. So that’s my recommendation to you: Try the Salsa Verde.

So, I get an okay feeling when I think of them. I guess that means I thought that they were alright. Better with the salsa than without. However, Nathan and my mom claimed that they liked the enchiladas. Quite a bit, actually. I think Nathan is more trustworthy than my mom in this case, so if we’re going to trust him, these enchiladas weren’t half bad. Don’t skimp on the salt though – that I know for sure.

Well that’s all I remember. Maybe a bit of a pathetic memory. I tried, though. And that’s what matters, right? I tried my best.

Green Chicken Enchiladas

From The Well-Filled Tortilla

4 to 5 lbs Chicken Pieces, a combination of breasts, thighs, and legs, or 1 &1/2 Chickens, quartered, or 2 &1/2 lbs Cooked Chicken Meat (5 to 6 Cups)

1 &1/2 Teaspoons Dried Oregano

Salt and Freshly Ground Black Pepper, to taste

3 Medium Onions, halves lengthwise and thinly sliced

3 Tablespoons Olive Oil

About 18 Corn Tortillas

Salsa Verde (see below)

1 Cup Grated or Crumbled Cheese, such as Cheddar, Jack, Feta, or Queso Fresco

_

If using fresh chicken, heat the oven to 450 degrees F. Place the Chicken Pieces, skin side up, in a roasting pan (or a cast-iron skillet, which I used). Sprinkle with the Oregano and Salt and Pepper. Arrange the Onions over the chicken; drizzle the Oil over the top. Bake until the juices are no longer pink, about 45 minutes. Remove from oven and let cool enough to handle. Shred the meat and discard the skin and bones. Mix the chicken meat with the onions in the pan.

If using precooked chicken, heat the Olive Oil in a frying pan over medium heat. Add the Onions, Oregano, and Salt and Pepper to taste. Stir until the onions are soft, about 15 minutes. Stir in the cooked chicken and remove from heat.

In a frying pan, heat enough vegetable oil to coat the bottom. Fry the tortillas over medium heat until just soft and pliable, a few seconds per side.

To assemble, fill each tortilla with about 1/3 Cup of the warm chicken and onions and roll into a tube. Place the enchiladas in a single layer in a baking dish. Spread the Salsa Verde over the top and sprinkle on the Cheese. Cover the baking dish with foil and place in a 350 degree F oven until the cheese melts, about 10 minutes. Serve with additional toppings if desired.

*

Corn Tortillas

From the Maseca package

2 Cups Masa Harina

1 &1/4 Cups Water

1/4 Teaspoon Salt

_

Combine all of the ingredients in a bowl. Mix thoroughly for about 2 minutes to form a soft dough. If dough feels dry, add more water, one tablespoon at a time.

Divide the dough into roughly 16 to 18 equal balls. Cover with a damp cloth to keep moist. Line a tortilla press with two pieces plastic wrap and press one ball until tortilla measures 5 to 6 inches in diameter (or if you do not have a tortilla press, place one ball between two pieces of plastic wrap on a flat surface. Press down with the bottom of a plate or other flat object, then roll out with a rolling pin to achieve the desired size). Carefully peel off plastic wrap.

*

Salsa Verde

Adapted from The Well-Filled Tortilla

12 to 16 Ounces Tomatillos

2 Cups Cilantro Leaves

2 Serrano Chili Peppers, stemmed

1/4 Teaspoon Salt

_

Peel the paper husks off the Tomatillos. Rinse the tomatillos, place them in a saucepan, and add water to cover. Bring to a boil and simmer until soft to the touch, about 5 minutes. Remove tomatillos and reserve water.

In a food processor, blender, or food mill, purée the tomatillos along with 1/2 cup of the reserved cooking liquid, the Cilantro, and the Chilies. Stir in the Salt.

