Disappointment loaves.

Let me explain.

Disappointment: n. The feeling of sadness or displeasure caused by the nonfulfillment of one’s hopes or expectations (Google.com)

I am the one to blame for my disappointment. I judged a recipe by its ingredients, and with a list containing Rose Water, Coconut, Almond Extract, and Raisins, I anticipated a heavily fragrant and coconutty bread. The loaves came out of the oven looking wonderful with a nice lightly golden crust, just ready to be eaten. I cut off a slice, took a bite, and faced – disappointment. Alas, they were not so fragrant as I had hoped. Tasty, yes, but just not what I had been looking forward to. Such a nonfulfillment of my hopes and expectations.

All the disappointment aside, the bread wasn’t bad. The coconut was mainly there for the texture, and the flavor mainly came from the Cinnamon and the Nutmeg, I think (although Nathan, who liked it, says it tasted “coconutty with sweet surprises). The raisins were nice, and I might have added more had I made it over again.

They honestly could make very good toast, I think. Just a little crispy on the outside with a little bit of butter on top. That actually sounds delicious.

Could be a nice tea compliment.

Coconut Raisin Loaves

From Kwanzaa

4 Cups All-Purpose Flour

2/3 Cup Sugar

1 Tablespoon plus 1 Teaspoon Baking powder

1 Teaspoon Ground Cinnamon

1/4 Teaspoon Salt

1/4 Teaspoon Grated Nutmeg

2 Cups Grated Fresh Coconut*

3/4 Cup Dark Raisins

8 Tablespoons (1 stick) Unsalted Butter, melted

1/2 Cup Milk, plus additional if necessary

2 Large Eggs, beaten

2 Teaspoons Vanilla Extract

1 Teaspoon Almond Extract

1 Teaspoon Rose Water

_

Postion a rack in the center of the oven and preheat to 350 degrees F. Lightly butter two 8×4 inch loaf pans. Dust the pans with flour, and knock out the excess.

In a large bowl, sift together the Flour, Sugar, Baking Powder, Cinnamon, Salt, and Nutmeg. Stir in the the Coconut and Raisins.

In a medium bowl, whisk together the Melted Butter, Milk, Eggs, Vanilla and Almond Extracts, and Rose Water. Stir the liquid into the dry ingredients to make a soft biscuit-like dough. Stir in additional milk if necessary (the exact amount of milk depends on the moistness 0f the coconut). Divide the dough evenly between the two prepared loaf pans, smoothing the tops.

Bake until a toothpick inserted in the center of a loaf comes out clean, 45 to 50 minutes. Cook the loaves for 10 minutes on a wire cake rack. Then invert them onto the rack, unmold, and allow to cool completely.

