I’ve never really liked biscotti. The first time I tried it I was pretty young. I don’t know what I was expecting, but I wasn’t expecting a cookie to be so hard. It was so crunchy that it hurt the top of my mouth and teeth! I think it was one of the first cookies that I rejected. An overall bad experience.

So since then, I  hadn’t really touched biscotti at all and the only reason I even tried these was because I was making a sort of cookie basket for some of my teachers. They turned out pretty well though, I must say. Not too hard, they are a little crumblier when you bite into them. And I’ve been told they’re good in tea or coffee, too (maybe my first experience would have been better if I’d softened them that way). I add a little more almond extract just because I’m a big fan of the flavor and smell – of course feel free to experiment. Adding other nuts or fruit like almonds, currants, pecans, etc. would be pretty easy in this recipe. Just mix em in with the sticky dough! (it is very sticky, I was quite surprised to discover).

So yeah, I feel like I’ve undersold these biscotti. But I don’t want to oversell them. Am I doing them a disservice?

I’ll just leave it with the comment that I like them, other people like them, they’re likeable. So maybe you should give them a try for yourself.

Cranberry Pistachio Biscotti

From Allrecipes.com

1/4 Cup Light Olive Oil

3/4 Cup White Sugar

2 Teaspoons Vanilla Extract

1/2 Teaspoon Almond Extract (I usually add a little more than this)

2 Eggs

1 & 3/4 Cup All-Purpose Flour

1/4 Teaspoon Salt

1 Teaspoon Baking Powder

1/2 Cup Dried Cranberries

1 & 1/2 Cup Shelled Pistachios

_

Preheat Oven to 300 degrees F (150 degrees C). Line a cookie sheet with parchment paper.

In a large bowl, mix together Oil and Sugar until well blended. Mix in the Vanilla and Almond Extracts, then beat in the Eggs.

Combine Flour, Salt, and Baking Powder in a separate bowl and gradually stir into the egg mixture. Mix in Cranberries and Pistachios.

Divide the dough in half. Form two logs (12 x 2 inches) on the cookie sheet. If the dough is too sticky, wet hands with cool water before continuing.

Bake for 35 minutes in the preheated oven, or until the logs are light brown. Remove from the oven and set aside to cool for 10 minutes. Reduce the oven temperature to 275 degrees F (135 degrees C).

Cut the logs on diagonal into 3/4 thick slices. Lay the slices on their sides on the parchment covered cookie sheet and bake for 8 to 10 minutes more, or until the cookies are dry. Let cool and enjoy by themselves or with a hot drink.

