What better way to start this off than with a nice way to start your day?

Just to let you know, These are my Favorite Breakfast Pancakes that I have come across so far. It’s not the recipe for the pancakes, exactly. It’s just the way that I eat them. And I came up with it all by myself ! I’m very proud of this, by the way. It’s not every day that you come up with a wonderful, original thing. And if anyone reading this right now is thinking “well you’re not the first person to think of that, I eat them like that too,” then all I have to say to you is that I’m happy for you. We both came up with a good idea independently and that in itself should be enough to make a person proud.

So, about these pancakes. The pancakes batter itself is a little different than most pancake batters. I was given the recipe by a friend who calls them “cakey pancakes.” They’re pretty thick. You’ll see if you make them, but this batter isn’t the runny kind that forms a perfect circle when you pour it. Oh no, this stuff has personality. The first time I made them at home, Nathan walked up behind me and said, “Why are you sculpting those pancakes?” He was referring to the fact that I had a spoon in each hand and was trying by best to shape this personalitied batter into a respectable-looking pancake: round edges, smooth sides, ready to fluff up evenly. Unfortunately I had no such luck my first attempt or two. The thickness of the batter that prevented it from spreading out easily also prevented the center from cooking fully without the outside burning. I ended up with some burnt, lopsided, undercooked, and overall raggedy pancakes.

That is not the end of my story, however. It does get better.

After multiple attempts, I found a method that worked, and now I will share that method with you, if you care to learn. You have to be reasonably quick, though. Not too aggressive but just pushy enough.

Using a spoon (I use a standard table spoon. One that I eat cereal with), I scoop up some batter and push it onto the pan with an equally sized spoon. Now here’s where you have to be quick. Using the front/bottom of both spoons, I pull at the edges of the batter to form it into a roundish-shape that’s not too thick (as they do get reasonably fluffy and you want it too cook through). Be careful not to pull too much batter, because then you might poke a hole in the middle. If you’re successful, you’ll end up with a still jaggedy-edged but nicely golden and fluffy pancake. Then we get to what goes on top, because it’s a whole group of things that makes these pancakes wonderful.

Here it is: Jam and Bananas.* That’s what I put on top that I claim is so original and delicious. That’s my fabulous idea. Sure, I guess it’s not the most original flavor combination in the world. I (and I’m sure others) eat peanutbutter, jam, and banana sandwiches. I admit they show up other places together, too. But in my mind, I had made a major breakthrough in the pancake-eating community and I am happy to share that with you today.

*The chocolate chips inside the pancakes are necessary as well for the full great breakfast pancake experience.

Breakfast Pancakes

From Katherine’s Mom’s recipe

2 1/2 Cups All-Purpose Flour

2 Tablespoons Baking Powder

1 Teaspoon Salt

3 Tablespoons sugar

1 Cup Milk

2 Eggs, Lightly Beaten

4 Tablespoons Melted Butter

A Handful or Two of Chocolate chips

Jam**

A Ripe Banana or Two

_

Mix Flour, Baking Powder, Salt, and Sugar in a bowl. In a separate bowl, mix the Milk, Eggs, and 4 tablespoons melted Butter. Add the flour mixture to the milk mixture to form batter. Mix in the chocolate chips.

Coat your pan in a bit of butter and heat it up. Add the batter to the pan, a spoonful at a time and cook – flipping once or several times if needed – until done (see above for cooking recommendations).

Spread some jam on the top of your pancake and finish it off with a coating of the bananas, sliced. That’s all – hopefully you like them !

**Whatever kind you like. I personally am a fan of blackberry or raspberry, but once I had some of this papaya-pineapple jam that was great.

